Logo BMVI
Logo Hamburg

7th National Cycling Congress

HAMBURG, 27 and 28 April 2021

Information City of Hamburg

 

Hamburg
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Andreas Vallbracht

“Moin” from Hamburg!

We love Hamburg! Fun-loving Northern Germans and colourful umbrellas are characteristic for the city on the Elbe. No matter if it rains or the sun shines, Hamburg radiates in brightest lights. From unique buildings to huge container ships and delicious fish sandwiches – there are plenty of things to discover in Hamburg. Here are our top ten:

1. Hamburg is the “Venice of the North”

In Hamburg, you are always close to the water. At the port, the river Alster or one of the countless dikes – it is nearly impossible not to see water. During a tour on the Alster or of the harbour, you can explore Hamburg aboard ship, watch cruise ships enter the city's port or simply have a good time. By the way, with its more than 2,500 bridges, Hamburg is Europe’s bridge city number one. Not even Venice can keep up with that. The North wins this set.

2. Hamburg is the “king” of musicals

Hamburg has been playing in the champions league of musical metropoles for quite a while. Here, you can experience the most beautiful musicals and shows. A true classic is Disney’s THE LION KING. For more than 18 years, the Disney hit has been performed on the Elbe and continues to fascinate countless visitors. Slightly away from the Elbe, other flagships of musical culture in Hamburg are, for instance, the Stage Operettenhaus and the Schmidts TIVOLI.

3. Hamburg is all about music

In November 2016, the Elbphilharmonie in the Hamburg port was completed. Today, the impressive concert hall is one of the flagships of the Hanseatic City. Its observation platform, the Plaza, is accessible free of charge and allows you to enjoy an impressive 360-degree-view of the city. On the inside, unprecedented sound is awaiting you in the Grand Hall of the Elbphilharmonie. Hamburg without the “Elphi”? Unimaginable! However, the Hanseatic City also resounds in the most beautiful notes outside of the Elbphilharmonie. For instance at numerous events, such as the world famous Reeperbahn Festival or the Elbjazz.

4. Hamburg’s beauty has been set in brake- and sandstone for long

The fact that Hamburg is one of the architectural gems of the North had been set in brakestone long before the completion of the Elbphilharmonie. The historic warehouse district at the city's port looks like it had been designed for a postcard. In addition to the Michel, Hamburg’s most famous church, the world’s largest historic warehouse district is the landmark of the city and not only nice to watch on postcards.

5. In Hamburg, nothing is impossible

The shopping metropolis Hamburg attracts more than 106 million day visitors each year. The diversity of shops, restaurants and bars has something in store for everybody. Vegan cafés, alternative shops and a positive attitude towards life are omnipresent in the streets. Be it old-school and folksy or trendy and modern – the interaction of past and present are a recurring theme in the Hanseatic City. In Hamburg’s Schanzenviertel quarter, the style is young and fresh. The hotspot close to the Hamburg University is a popular meeting place for students and free spirits.

 

Speicherstadt
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Joerg Modrow

 

6. One night in Hamburg's Kiez district is a must

Hamburg’s night-life largely takes place in St. Pauli. Until the early morning hours, there are boisterous parties in the clubs and bars of the red light district on the Reeperbahn. You can hear interesting facts about the dark and frivolous side of the Reeperbahn during a tour through the quarter. Get the party started!

7. Raining all day – no way!

Rain, grey clouds, storms? This is Hamburg’s typical nasty weather. However, equipped with an umbrella, rubber boots and an all-weather jacket, you can explore the Hanseatic City in any wind and weather. Of course, the people in Hamburg are happy about sunny days, but let’s be honest: without its typical Hamburg weather, it’s only half as much fun. Puddle, here we come!

8. Hamburg is fun for sailors young and old

You will never be bored in Hamburg. The range of leisure activities is both large and diverse. Escape rooms, climbing and trampoline parks offer indoor fun for the entire family. At the International Maritime Museum, you can take the wheel yourself. The Hagenbeck animal park and tropical aquarium fascinate both young and old. And at the Miniatur Wunderland, a model railway attraction, there is a lot to discover. A trip around the world in the afternoon? No problem at the Miniatur Wunderland.

9. From A as in automotives museum to Z as in Zeise cinema

Culture enthusiasts do not come up short in the birth city of Johannes Brahms. The range of museums, exhibitions and theatres pleases every gusto. Follow in the footsteps of the Beatles or delve into the linguistic world of the Northern German dialect at the Ohnsorg Theatre.

10. The proof is in the pudding – 13 stars are shining over Hamburg

Culture, architecture and nature – check. But what about the Hamburg cuisine? At the traditional Hamburg restaurants, the focus is on fish meals. Matie, lobscouse or a fish sandwich on the go are the culinary classics. International, vegetarian, vegan and extraordinary menus complete the offer. With 13 Michelin stars, Hamburg’s cuisine belongs to the crème de la crème. A sweet temptation that you should not miss: the traditional Franzbrötchen, a sweet cinnamon-flavoured pastry. The best Franzbrötchen can only be found in Hamburg!

Further information on cycling and on all things worth knowing about Hamburg can be found at: www.hamburg.de/radverkehr (in German)

 

Radverkehr
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Andreas Vallbracht

 

to top ↑
7th National Cycling Congress, HAMBURG, 27 and 28 April 2021

Logo BMVI
Logo Hamburg

7. Nationaler Radverkehrskongress

HAMBURG, 27.-28. April 2021

Informationen Stadt Hamburg

 

Hamburg
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Andreas Vallbracht

Moin aus Hamburg!

Wir lieben Hamburg! Lebensfrohe Nordlichter und bunte Regenschirme prägen das Bild der Stadt an der Elbe. Ob bei Regen oder Sonnenschein, Hamburg strahlt in seinen prächtigsten Farben. Von einzigartigen Bauwerken über riesige Containerschiffe hin zu leckeren Fischbrötchen gibt es in Hamburg vieles zu entdecken. Hier die Top Ten:

1. Hamburg ist das Venedig des Nordens

In Hamburg ist man immer am Wasser. Am Hafen, der Alster oder an einem der zahlreichen Fleets, es ist nahezu unmöglich kein Wasser zu sehen. Auf einer Alster- oder Hafenrundfahrt können Sie Hamburg vom Schiff aus erkunden, Kreuzfahrtschiffen beim Einlaufen in den Hamburger Hafen zusehen oder einfach nur die Seele baumeln lassen. Übrigens: Mit über 2.500 Brücken ist Hamburg die brückenreichste Stadt Europas. Da kann nicht mal Venedig mithalten. Eins zu null für den Norden!

2. Hamburg ist der "König" der Musicals

Hamburg spielt nicht erst seit gestern in der ersten Liga der Musicalmetropolen weltweit. Erleben Sie die schönsten Musicals & Shows: Ein absoluter Klassiker ist Disneys DER KÖNIG DER LÖWEN. Seit über 18 Jahren wird der Disney-Hit an der Elbe aufgeführt und zieht bis heute zahlreiche Besucher*innen in seinen Bann. Abseits der Elbe sind z.B. das Stage Operettenhaus und das Schmidts TIVOLI Ankerplätze der Musicalkultur in Hamburg.

3. Hamburg ist eine zutiefst musikalische Stadt

Im November 2016 wurde die Elbphilharmonie am Hamburger Hafen fertiggestellt. Heute zählt das eindrucksvolle Konzerthaus zu den Aushängeschildern der Hansestadt. Von der Plaza, der kostenlos zugänglichen Aussichtsplattform, genießen Sie einen beeindruckenden Rund-um-Blick auf das Stadtpanorama. Und im Inneren erwartet Sie ein nie dagewesenes Klangwunder im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie. Hamburg ohne Elphi? Unvorstellbar! Aber auch abseits der Elbphilharmonie erklingt die Hansestadt in 1000 schönen Tönen. Zum Beispiel auf den zahlreichen Veranstaltungen, wie dem weltbekannten Reeperbahn Festival oder dem Elbjazz.

4. Hamburgs Schönheit ist schon lange in Back- und Sandstein gemeißelt

Dass Hamburg zu den Baukünstlern des Nordens zählt, war schon lange Zeit vor der Elbphilharmonie in Backstein gemeißelt. Wie für eine Postkarte geschaffen erhebt sich die historische Speicherstadt am Hamburger Hafen. Der größte historische Lagerhauskomplex der Welt ist neben dem Michel, Hamburgs bekanntester Kirche, das Wahrzeichen der Stadt und nicht nur auf Postkarten schön anzusehen.

5. In Hamburg gibt es nichts, was es nicht gibt

Als Shoppingmetropole zieht Hamburg jedes Jahr mehr als 106 Millionen Tagestouristen an. Die Vielfalt an Shops, Restaurants und Bars hält für jeden etwas bereit. Vegane Cafés, alternative Läden und ein positives Lebensgefühl füllen die Straßen. Ob urig und rustikal oder trendig und modern – Das Gegenspiel von Geschichte und Gegenwart zieht sich durch die gesamte Hansestadt. Jung und frisch präsentiert sich das Hamburger Leben im Schanzenviertel. Unweit der Universität Hamburg ist das Szeneviertel ein beliebter Treffpunkt von Studenten und Freigeistern.

 

Speicherstadt
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Joerg Modrow

6. Einmal im Leben muss man auf dem Hamburger Kiez gefeiert haben

Das Hamburger Nachtleben spielt sich zu großen Teilen auf St. Pauli ab. In den Clubs und Bars im Rotlichtviertel an der Reeperbahn herrscht bis in die frühen Morgenstunden ausgelassene Stimmung. Interessantes über die dunklen und frivolen Aspekte der Reeperbahn erfahren Sie z.B. auf einer Kieztour. Auf ins Vergnügen!

7. Von wegen nur Regen!

Regen, graue Wolken, Sturm? Das ist schönstes Schietwetter à la Hamburg. Mit Regeschirm, Gummistiefel und wetterfester Jacke ausgestattet lässt sich die Hansestadt bei jedem Wetter erkunden. Natürlich ist auch in Hamburg die Freude über Sonnenstrahlen groß, aber ganz ehrlich: So ganz ohne Schietwetter ist der Spaß doch nur halb so groß! Regenpfütze, wir kommen!

8. In Hamburg gibt es Spaß für kleine und große Matrosen

Langweilig wird es in Hamburg nicht. Das Angebot an Freizeitaktivitäten ist ebenso groß wie abwechslungsreich. Escape Rooms, Kletterparks und Trampolinhallen versprechen Indoor Spaß für die ganze Familie. Im Internationalen Maritimen Museum können Sie selbst das Steuer in die Hand nehmen. Hagenbecks Tierpark und Tropen-Aquarium faszinieren Groß und Klein. Viel zu entdecken gibt es im Miniatur Wunderland. Eine Weltreise am Nachmittag? Hier ist das kein Problem.

9. Von A wie Automuseum bis Z wie Zeise Kino

Kulturinteressierte kommen in der Geburtsstadt von Johannes Brahms nicht zu kurz. Das Angebot an Museen, Ausstellungen und Theatern bedient jeden Geschmack. Begeben Sie sich auf die Spuren der Beatles oder tauchen Sie im Ohnsorg Theater in die Sprachwelt des Plattdeutsch ein.

10. Budder bei die Fische – Über Hamburg strahlen 13 Sterne

Kultur, Architektur und Natur – schön und gut! Doch was hat die Hamburger Küche zu bieten? In den traditionellen Hamburger Restaurants liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Fischgerichten. Matjes, Labskaus oder ein Fischbrötchen auf die Hand zählen zu den kulinarischen Klassikern. Internationale, vegetarische, vegane und ausgefallene Speisekarten ergänzen das Angebot. Mit 13 Michelin-Sternen gehört Hamburgs Küche zur Crème de la Crème. Eine süße Verführung, die Sie nicht verpassen sollten: das traditionelle Franzbrötchen. Denn die besten Franzbrötchen gibt es nur in Hamburg!

Weitere Infos über den Radverkehr und über alles Sehenswerte in Hamburg unter:
www.hamburg.de/radverkehr

 

Radverkehr
www.mediaserver.hamburg.de/Andreas Vallbracht

nach oben ↑
7. Nationaler Radverkehrskongress, HAMBURG, 27.-28. April 2021